Generational Change on the Board of the Gusen Memorial Committee (GMC)

December 1st, 2023 The newly elected board of the Gusen Memorial Committee (GMC). From left to right: Prof. Rudolf Haunschmied, Lena Patrejko, Peter Vogtenhuber, Reinhard Kaspar, Martha Gammer, (Rudolf Lehner), Julia Mayr, Hannes Gammer, Bernhard Mühleder.

The board of the Gusen Memorial Committee (GMC) was newly elected at the general assembly on December 1, 2023 in the House of Remembrance of the Mauthausen-Gusen-St. Georgen Region of Awareness at St. Georgen/Gusen, Austria.

Mr. Reinhard Kaspar was unanimously elected as the new chairman of the GMC.

In this role, Reinhard Kaspar succeeds Mrs. Martha Gammer, who has chaired the GMC with great commitment for 15 years since 2008. Martha Gammer was warmly thanked for her yearlong leadership work at this general assembly. She will continue to serve the GMC as deputy chairwoman in the coming years and will support Mr. Reinhard Kaspar in leading the GMC.

All members of the GMC again like to thank Mrs. Martha Gammer for her many years of work in a leading position and wish our new chairman all the best in leading the GMC into a good future.

We also thank Mr. Rudolf Lehner from the community board of the municipality of St. Georgen/Gusen, who led this new election and also expressed the thanks of the community of the market town of St. Georgen/Gusen for the many decades of our successful and comitted research and remembrance work on the former KL Gusen complex of concentration camps with more than 40.000 victims.